My Sunshiny Life











{April 19, 2009}   Weekend Roundup

It’s been a very long time since I’ve been to Busaba Eathai so thought it high time I paid it a visit.  I was meeting up with Sam and I decided to make a concerted effort to be early as I’m always late.  I got us a prime position in the front of the queue.  There aren’t many restaurants in London I’d queue half an hour to get in to, but Busaba Eathai is one of them.  Standing in the queue the aromas drift out, tantalising and teasing you.  When you walk in there is a distinctive scent that envelops you, like smoky incense and lemongrass – my taste buds stand to attention immediately.  It’s located in Wardour Street and has THE best calamari in London.  Their lemongrass tea served with a little pot of honey and a cashew and coconut cookie is pretty damn good too.   Actually I’d go so far as to say I’ve never had anything that I haven’t liked, which is praise indeed from a sometimes little fusspot.

Busaba Calamari

Busaba Calamari

Lemongrass tea with cashew/coconut cookie

Lemongrass tea with cashew/coconut cookie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On Saturday morning I went for a long walk and stopped in to Running Shoes London in Paddington Basin.  This place is fabulous.  I went on a treadmill and the very helpful girl analysed my running gait to determine which shoe would suit me best.  I think I tried on half the shop and ended up with a pair of Adidas runners.  I left my old clod hoppers in the shop, I couldn’t believe the difference a properly fitted shoe made.  Unfortunately I haven’t had a chance to try them out running yet but they felt lovely to walk in.  I haven’t been for as many runs as I’d like, I went twice this week with a few walks thrown in too. 

I was meant to go today but have been quite hung over due to the first Come Dine with Me dinner.   All details on http://dinneratmine.wordpress.com    Tomorrow is another day however and I can’t wait to be out there with my new running gear, I’ve got my iPod shuffle, running shoes, thorlo socks, capri pants and sports knickers all ready to go.   I’ll be running for 5 minutes without stopping by the end of the week!  A big achievement, believe me.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
