My Sunshiny Life











{May 10, 2009}   Champers and Dresses

I went bridesmaid dress shopping at the Westfield Mall in White City with Missy G yesterday.  I hadn’t been to the mall before and wanted to check it out.  I liked what I saw, I especially liked the village where all the high end shops are located.  I LOVED Searcy’s champagne bar, which is situated right in the middle of the luxury shops, and I shopped happily, with thoughts of a crisp dry sparkling reward waiting for me at the end of it. 

I hadn’t been looking forward to trying on dresses, actually I’d been dreading it.  Not because I don’t want a nice dress for the wedding – but my master plan to drop a few dress sizes hasn’t really panned out so far.  At the outset of our shopping expedition I made a declaration that made Missy G’s heart drop – ‘I’m buying a size 10, no matter what size fits now and I’ll make sure I fit it for the wedding’!  Ha, if that doesn’t conjure up a miracle weight loss then I don’t know what will.

We found some lovely dresses, but you can’t make such a momentous decision in one shopping trip and I can’t go into any detail about the dresses or we’ll ruin the surprise.  So we left chiffon, silk, beadwork and ribbon behind and moved to the champagne bar (my weight loss miracle can start on Monday). 

searcys champagne bar

I chose the taster option where you’re given four different pommery champagnes to try.  Missy G went for her favourite (and now mine because I copied her) champagne Pol Roger.  It’s heaven in a glass.  Mine came out on a tray, with four small champagne glasses (they give you nibbles too, big thumbs up) and Missy G’s Pol Roger was served in a glamorous, gorgeous, thin champagne flute.  I liked the pommery champagne but Pol Roger wins the taste test.

ladies who drink

So we’ll be going shopping again, but I won’t be dreading the next time.  The dresses looked lovely on us and there is a perfect (size 10) dress out there with my name on it.  I’ve made a rule (this very second) that each shopping trip must be followed by champagne, which makes me look forward to the next expedition even more!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
