My Sunshiny Life











{November 21, 2009}   Breakfast at Tiffany's

A girl’s night out at Breakfast at Tiffany’s, the London West End play, followed by cocktails at the Connaught is a lovely way to spend a night.  

The movie is one of my favourites and I expected the play to follow the same story line, but it was a little bit different.  There were more obvious references to the fact Holly Golightly gets by financially by taking money from her social companions.  The male lead (Joseph Cross) did a good job, but he was totally miscast and no match for the dashing George Peppard from the movie.  Anna Friel played Holly Golightly, in what I’ll always think of as Audrey Hepburn’s role, but Anna did an amazing job and made the role her own on the stage.  This girl has some chutzpah, to be up on stage buck naked, with only a towel draped loosely across to give her some degree of modesty.  But seriously, if I looked like Anna Friel, I think I’d walk down the street naked.  From 3rd row seats I can report, no cellulite and a fabulous figure.

I’m not sure if it was a conscious decision to have Anna’s hair dyed blonde, but it was for the best, as quite soon into the show I stopped making comparisons to Audrey and just enjoyed her performance.  The play has been slated by some and I think the male lead might be the reason, but I enjoyed it and would highly recommend you go and see it.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
